The Outback Communities Authority works closely with a number of outback communities.  Each community generally has a Progress Association (or similar) incorporated under the Associations Incorporations Act, (1985) to represent it. These associations generally assist with community needs and priorities and, where resources allow, maintain facilities and services and undertake important town management roles.

The OCA also recognises co-existing Aboriginal community groups in three towns – the Marree Arabanna Peoples' Committee (Marree); Dunjiba Community Council (Oodnadatta) and the Aroona Aboriginal Council (Copley).

Click on a location on the map for more info on specific communities: