Outback Communities Authority Nomination for Membership

Nominations are sought for membership of the Outback Communities Authority, a statutory body established to articulate the views, interests and aspirations of outback communities and to coordinate the provision of, and promote improvements in, public services and facilities in outback communities.

The Authority has jurisdiction over almost two-thirds of the State not covered by local councils and serves about 3,000 people residing in numerous small communities, service locations and pastoral/farming properties in the outback. Four positions commencing 1 July2022, are available for nomination. Nominations are open to people living in the outback and/or who have an interest in supporting and progressing the development of the outback region. Skills and experience in disciplines such as strategic thinking and financial management, and with regional industries such as mining, transport, water management, waste management and energy provision will be advantageous, as will a demonstrated commitment to community service in the outback. Being a member of the outback community is desirable.

The Authority comprises seven members who are appointed for a term up to three years and will be eligible for re-appointment. The closing date for nominations is close of business Friday 27 May 2022. Nominations should be addressed to:

Outback Communities Authority Nomination for Membership
PO Box 3326
Port Augusta West SA  5700

or emailed to oca@sa.gov.au.

Information on nomination and the activities of the Authority can be found here. Information can also be obtained from Mr Mark Sutton, Director, Office for the Outback Communities Authority – telephone 0427 001 969 or 1800 640 542.